First time board setup: truck angles on a Skaterbuilt Hybrid

Slalom Skateboard Trucks

Moderator: Terry Kirby

Tim Pritchard

First time board setup: truck angles on a Skaterbuilt Hybrid

Post by Tim Pritchard » Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:59 pm

Hey all,

I’ve never setup a slalom board before, and never even ridden one either, so I'm looking for some advice to get me going.

I have been riding an LDP (Long Distance Pump) setup for a couple years now, so I should have plenty of parts to get me going. My LDP deck is a Subsonic Pulse v3.0 with a wheelbase of 29.5” I believe. Now, the slalom deck that looks to be heading my way in the next few weeks is a Skaterbuilt Mike Maysey Hybrid. I believe the vital statistics for the Maysey Hybrid are: 33” long 8.8” wide, a few sets of holes front and back with wheelbase dimensions 19”, 19.5” 20”, 20.5”.

I have the following parts: and, in brackets is the angle I run the trucks at for LDP:
Front Trucks:
Bennett 5.0 (+16DEG)
Tracker RTX 129mm (Around +11DEG? not used it much)

Rear Trucks:
Tracker RTS 129mm (-13DEG)
Virage LDP (0, -1 or -2DEG)
Seismic 130mm wide (-7DEG)

Wheels:
62mm 3dm Cambrias
75mm Big Zig lemon/limes
77mm Seismic Speed Vents Purple/Blue

I'm quite a high speed LDPer, so my front truck angles are probably less steep than most LDPers. Most run their Bennetts around +18, +19DEG.

I'm looking for kind of a GS/Hybrid setup, just something to get me rolling to begin with, on the right sort of lines. Bennett front I’ll be trying first, I'm sure.
I’ve picked up that I should have less wedging on the front for slalom than for LDP, but how much? And will I need a lot of flat risers to avoid wheel bite?
I think the rear truck angles will be similar from slalom to LDP? But added risers also.
Is it important to try and get the heights similar front and back?