Setting up a good course

A Forum For New Racers.

Moderator: Karl Floitgraf

Robbie Lyons
Robbie
Robbie

Setting up a good course

Post by Robbie Lyons » Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:32 am

I am still new to the whole slalom thing, but it is a blast. I bought a 50 pack of Solo cups to use and I usually stack two of them together to weigh them down a bit more. I have a perfect grade for slalom (at least for beginners) right by my house that can hold a course of about 30-35 cones. First run I spaced them 7 feet apart, but cleared the course first try. Next I put the cones at 6 feet apart which was a bit more challenging for me, but I got it after a few tries. How tight should the cones be? How many cones do courses usually have? Like I said I am new to slalom, so any advice would be greatly appreciated...

Robbie

Chris Iversen
Chris I
Chris I

Post by Chris Iversen » Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:44 pm

Tight slalom can usually run 5 ft or 5.5 ft centres. Hybrid you can use your imagination... starting with 6 footers, closing to 5, opening to 7's with offsets, tightening back up for the finish... Have fun with it!
Live to skate, SKATE OR DIE!!!

Jonathan Harms
JBH - ISSA Treasurer
JBH - ISSA Treasurer

Post by Jonathan Harms » Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:56 pm

How tight should the cones be? How many cones do courses usually have?
How tight depends on how steep the slope is and what type of course you want to set. If you made the 7-footers first try, and soon made 6-footers easily, either

a) you've got a nicely set up board with loose trucks and a short wheelbase
b) your hill is not overly steep (as you say, that's a good thing for beginners)

or

c) you're a prodigy! :-)

Regardless of which of those is true: whatever you're doing, keep doing it.