Another newbie

A Forum For New Racers.

Moderator: Karl Floitgraf

ben hall

Another newbie

Post by ben hall » Wed May 30, 2007 10:29 pm

howdi guys im new to the slalom thing and im looking for a new board. at the moment i have a bahne blackhill, tracker rts rear,seismic front, with lush revolver wheels,

basically im looking to upgrade, any suggestions, so far ive spent a lot of time looking at the roe cutaway, insect boards and fibreflex.

im lookinf or an all round board ts to sgs, something that will encompass everything.

Ben

Wesley Tucker
1961-2013 (RIP)
1961-2013 (RIP)

Post by Wesley Tucker » Wed May 30, 2007 10:51 pm

Ben,

Before you do anything, I would suggest JUST buying some new wheels. The 3DM Hot Spot or Avalons and the Manx wheels are excellent choices. Keep it simple with something moderate in an 80a or 82a duromoter. Not too hard, not too soft.

Also, consider getting some quality bearings. You didn't mention what you're riding, but Oust and Pleasure Tool both have really good affordable racing bearings.

Get the wheels first and exchange out those Lush things. Once you've done that coupled with the Black hilll (I have one) with the Tracker RT-X/S (I have several) you'll have a better idea of what to do next.

Anyway, that's my suggestion. Get the wheels and spend some time on a real slalom racing set up. Then start thinking about the big bucks for trucks and decks.

P.S. Where are you?

ben hall

Post by ben hall » Wed May 30, 2007 11:46 pm

why are people not fans of the revolvers, ive found them to be great so far, really grippy, responsive and prdictable ( i would quite like a softer back wheels though, ive got some turner cambrias coming in the post, soft rear and harder front (white and grey i think) .

As regards to the pockets pistol decks they look like cool decks, however the grphics are a real put off for me, i dont really like the punk inspred sort of thing.