10 Questions with Barret "Chicken" Deck

Pocket Pistol Slalom Boards

Moderator: Barret Deck

Adam Trahan
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Phoenix, AZ, USA

Post by Adam Trahan » Thu Oct 17, 2002 5:29 am

Adam: Barret, why are you affectionately known as "Chicken?"

Barret: Well it's no secret I have a large beak. A long time ago I used to have a red Mohawk. You should be able to figure out the rest of the story. For some reason it just stuck.

Adam: How long have you been skateboarding slalom?

Barret: I've been skating for around 30 years now but I was never really into slalom until recently. I remember working at Vision back in the late eighties and coming across a pallet of new old stock boards. There was mostly Sims taper kicks and wood kicks. Hidden in the stack we came across a vein of Sims Turner team boards some screened some blank. Eventually I set one up, we would go skate this banked hip at this carwash. Then ride the Turners in this parking garage next door. We did it a few times but not a lot the only other time the Turner came out would be in front of the house where we would set up beer cans. Jeff Grosso, John Lucero, Ricky Barns, Duane Peters, some others, and myself would sit around and ride the slalom board and laugh at each other. Then in 2001 Arab told me he was going to Morro Bay and I should come check it out he said he was going to enter. I thought it sounded like fun so about two weeks before Morro Bay I dug through my collection and got out all the weird slalom boards and tried to set up something I could ride. I skated with Arab, Beau, Marc Du Paul, Chaput, and some others trying to get it down before Morro Bay. It was the first time I actually really tried to slalom. I was hooked after Morro Bay. I'd say I've been at it for about a year and a half now.

Adam: I've heard that you have a great timing system, can you tell us about it?